Administration & Management

The administration and management of the School is headed by the Dean, assisted by two Associate Deans (Postgraduate Studies and Research, and Undergraduate Studies). The School’s organogram summarized in Fig. I, shows the Board of the School of Medicine, constituted by all heads of the 19 departments of the School, as its main decision making body. The School Board is answerable to the University Senate, through a Committee of Deans and Directors and the MUHAS Academic Board.  Sub-committees of the School Board supporting the activities of the office of the Dean, include the Management, Planning, Teaching and Assessment Quality, Undergraduate Degrees Committee, and Higher Degrees and Research Committees. Support to the central office of the Dean is provided by administrators, secretaries and clerical staff.
The School of Medicine currently hosts eight undergraduate degree programmes and thirty postgraduate programmes.  A more recent development has been the initiation of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) programmes, a welcome product of the diverse research collaborations within the School.  The current departments of the School and academic programmes are as summarized below.

Contact US

P.O. Box 65001
Dar es Salaam
Tel: Direct: +255-22-2151680, Tel: +255 22 2150302-6 (Ext. 1008 Dean, 1276 OMS)
Fax: +255-022-2150465