RESEARCH AND CONSULTANCY

Research

The department is also a centre of high quality emergency care research in the country. In the past 5 years, the department has engaged itself by designing and executing several clinical research projects that provide an understanding of the burden of disease and efficacy of various interventions within an academic emergency department in Tanzania. Additionally, all residents and medical students design, execute and publish dissertations, as a university requirement for successful graduation. Currently, the department mentors students and residents in developing research proposals, data collection, data analysis and report writing.

 Consultancy

The department is also fully engaged in consultancy programs in the areas of emergency care systems development, disaster and mass casualty management, and emergency medicine curriculum and training programs development.

HEAD OF RESEACH AND CONSULTANCY PROGRAM

Dr. Hendry R. Sawe, MD, MMED, MBA

Research Program Head
E-mail: hsawe@muhas.ac.tz

Department leadership

Dr. Hendry R. Sawe, MD, MMED, MBA
Head and Lecturer
EM Residency and Research Program Head

Interests: Trauma, HIV, Emergency care systems development

Medical Officer In Charge -EMD
Muhimbili National Hospital

E-mail: hsawe@muhas.ac.tz

 


Dr. Juma Mfinanga, MD, MMED
Honorary Lecturer

Head of Emergency Medicine,
Muhimbili National Hospital

Interests: EMS

E-mail: Juma.mfinanga@mnh.or.tz

 

 

Prof. Victor Mwafongo MD, MMED
Associate Professor,
First and founding Head of EMD

Consultant
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital

E-mail: vmwafongo@muhas.ac.tz

 

 

Dr Said Kilindimo MD, MMed, FCEM (SA)
Head of undergraduate EM program
Emergency Physician
Emergency Medicine Department, MNH
Special interest: Medical Education and Critical care.
E-mail: skilindimo@muhas.ac.tz

 

 

 

 

Dr. Teri Reynolds MD, PhD
Honorary Lecturer
Emergency and Trauma Care Lead, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland
reynoldste@who.int

 

 

 

 

 


Dr. Michael Runyon MD, MPH
Honorary Lecturer
Director of Research,
Emergency Medicine Department
Carolinas Medical Centre
Charlotte NC, U.S.A
Michael.Runyon@carolinashealthcare.org

 

 

 


Dr. Brittany L. Murray MD
Honorary Lecturer
PEM Faculty,
Emory University, Atlanta GA, USA
brittanyleemurray2@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Esmail Sangey MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician/Intensivist
Emergency Department
Shree Hindu Mandal, Dar es salaam

 

 

 

 

Dr. Geminian Festo. MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Interests: Clinical care
Head of Medical Services
Office of National Assembly
drgimmyf@gmail.com

 

 

 

Dr. Ghaniya Mbarouk. MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital
Ghaniya.mbarouk@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

 

Dr. Irene Kulola. MD, MMED
Emergency Medicine Residency Program Assistant Head
Head of Training and Research Unit
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital
Irene.kulola@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

 

Dr. Kepha Bernard. MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital
Kepha.bernard@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

 

Dr. Khalid Mbaya MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Emergency Department
Agha Khan Hospital, Dar es salaam
Khalid.mbaya@akhst.org

 

 

 

 

Dr. Philip Michael Koka. MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital
Philip.koka@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

 


Dr. Renatus Tarimo MD, MMED
Undergraduate EM Program Assistant Head
Emergency physician
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital
Renatus.tarimo@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

 

Dr. Shahzmah Suleman. MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital
Shahzmah.suleman@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

 

Dr. Shaina Yusuf MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty
Emergency physician
Emergency Department
Shree Hindu Mandal, Dar es salaam

 

 

 

 

Dr. Sherin Kassamali MD, MMED
Undergraduate EM Program Assistant Head

Emergency physician
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital

sherin.kassamali@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 

Dr. Upendo George. MD, MMED
Externship and Elective Residents Head

Head of Paediatric Emergency Medicine
Emergency Medicine Department
Muhimbili National Hospital

upendo.george@mnh.or.tz

 

 

 


Dr. Yash Dubal MD, MMED
Adjunct Faculty

Emergency physician and lecturer
Emergency Department

 

 

 

 

 

Contact US

SCHOOL OF MEDICINE
P.O. Box 65001
Dar es Salaam
Tel: Direct: +255-22-2151680, Tel: +255 22 2150302-6 (Ext. 1008 Dean, 1276 OMS)
Fax: +255-022-2150465
E-Mail dsmed@muhas.ac.tz